Puerto Princesa Mayor Bayron designates City Baywalk as common area for fireworks display


The City of Puerto Princesa has designated the City Baywalk as the common area for fireworks and pyrotechnics exhibitions pursuant to the order of President Rodrigo Duterte to regulate the use of firecrackers.

Puerto Princesa Mayor Lucilo Bayron issued Executove Order No. 2017-24 supporting the “objective of the present administration to welcome he 2018 in a safest possible way.”

According to the EO of Mayor Bayron, there is an imperative need for the City to designate a common area for fireworks display to avoid and lessen untoward firecracker related injuries and casualties.

“The City Baywalk is hereby designated as the City’s common area for fireworks and pyrotechnics demonstrations, which may also be used by every barangay which does not have a designated area,” the executive order read.

However, the demonstration will only begin “after the last plane at the Puerto Princesa International Area is out.”

The order also said that for barangays which have their own designated common place for fireworks display, demonstration should only be confined in the said area.

“The Puerto Princesa City Police Office, in coordination with the City government and other concerned agencies, shall ensure compliance and enforcement of the Executove Order 1017-23 and this Order, which shall include conduct of monitoring, inspections, confiscations and destrcutions of prohibited fire crackers and pyrotechnic devices as provided by law,” the order read.

The Executive Order 28 issued in June 2017 of President Duterte provides for the regulation and use of firecrackers and other pyrotechnic devises.

Trending Topics - POLITIKO