Eto na! Naga Mayor Bongat’s Mayoral Awards final nominees known next week


Naga City Mayor John Bongat is set to announce next week the final 18 nominees to the prestigious 2017 Mayoral Awards.

The 18 names were reportedly chosen from an initial list of 30 persons received by the Mayoral Awards Committee, a Bicol Mail report said Thursday (June 8).

The shortened, “elite list of successful nominees” is now with the Board of Judges led by Dr. Elna N. Chia, M.D. The judges took over a month to validate and evaluate the initial list.

The Mayoral Awards and the annual search for outstanding citizens of Naga are among the highlight activities of the city’s annual celebration of its Charter Day on June 18.

Conferment of the awards will take place a day earlier at the Avenue Convention Plaza.

To be conferred personally by Mayor Bongat are four major awards, namely the Juan Q. Miranda Award, named after the father of the City Charter of Naga; the Leon SA. Aureus Award, named after the first mayor of Naga as a Chartered City; the Jesse M. Robredo Youth Award, named after the former Naga City mayor and beloved servant-leader; and the Lt. Delfin C. Rosales Award, named after the young brave soldier who plunged into a hail of bullets from Japanese snipers to save a wounded comrade.

Awardees are expected to receive plaque, medallion and cash awards.