Bicol leads 112 LGUs without disaster risk reduction investment plan – COA


Local government units (LGU) from Bicol region lead the 112 LGUs in the country which failed to prepared or submit their Local Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Fund Investment Plan (LDRRMFIP) for its disaster mitigation, prevention and preparedness projects, state auditors said.

In its consolidated report on the Disaster Risk Reduction and Management (DRRM), the Commission on Audit (COA) said 112 LGUs failed to prepare or submit their LDRRMFIP for their projects and activities for disaster mitigation, prevention and preparedness as required under Section 5.1.2 of COA Circular 2012-002.
In 2015, Region V (Bicol) topped the list with 22 LGUs without LDRRMFIP.

This is followed by Region VIII (Eastern Visayas) with 19 errant LGUs, Region IV-A (Calabarzon) with 15, Region X (Northern Mindanao) with 14, Region XII (Soccsksargen ) with eight, Region IX (Zamboanga Peninsula) with six, Region IV-B (Mimaropa) with five, Region XIII (Caraga) with four, Region VI (Western Visayas) with four, and Region III (Central Luzon) with four errant LGUs.

Trailing the list is Region I (Ilocos) with three errant LGUs, National Capital Region with three, Region XI (Davao) with two, Region VII (Central Visayas) with two, and the Cordillera Administrative Region with only one errant LGU.

According to Section 5.1.2 of the said COA circular, a local govenrment unit should prepare an annual LDRRMFIP for its DRRM program.

The said investment plan would present the 30 percent allocation for the quick response fund in lump-sum, as well as the allocation for disaster mitigation, prevention and preparedness with details as to projects and activities to be funded.

The said plan should also include under a separate caption the list of projects and activities charged to the unexpended local DRRM fund of previous years.