Sorsogon PPO manages to clear 13 towns of drugs before Duterte announcement

0 606

Some 13 municipalities composed of 241 barangays in Sorsogon have been declared drug-free, according to the Sorsogon Police Provincial Office (SORPPO).

Police Senior Superintendent Ronaldo Cabral identified the cleared municipalities as Barcelona, Bulusan, Casiguran, Castilla, Donsol, Gubat, Irosin, Juban, Magallanes, Matnog, Pilar, Prieto-Diaz and Santa Magdalena.

Cabral bared the scorecard of the local police force just days after President Rodrigo Duterte dissolved all anti-illegal drug units of the Philippine National Police (PNP).

As for the City of Sorsogon and Bulan town, SORPPO said that these have yet to submit their reports on their respective drug clearing operations. They have 53 and 32 drug-affected barangays, respectively.

Despite this, SORPPO can pride itself as having outdone the other police provincial offices in Bicol region in the implementation of the anti-illegal drugs campaign.

Duterte announced the dismantling of police anti-narcotics units last January 29.