DPWH to build temporary toilets in Albay evacuation centers, oversees camps in Daraga

0 158

The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) has committed to complete the construction of 333 temporary toilets with bathing areas in 52 evacuation centers in Albay.

The department also monitors the evacuation camps in Daraga, Albay housing the evacuees affected by the recent eruptive activities of Mt. Mayon.

DPWH Region 5 Director Danilo E. Versola reported to Secretary Mark A. Villar and Undersecretary Dimas S. Soguilon, in-charge of the Regional Operations in Luzon, that the “immediate construction of toilets will help address the need for hygiene and sanitation facilities of Mayon Volcano evacuees temporarily staying in evacuation camps.

The DPWH said that it was agreed during the recent Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council meeting that each national government agency will manage evacuation camps in city/municipalities affected by Mayon Volcano’s restiveness with the first class Municipality of Daraga and home to the picturesque Cagsawa Ruins assigned to DPWH.

“DPWH will manage operations of the eight (8) public schools and relocation centers for evacuees fleeing the eruption of Mount Mayon,” the department said.

Meanwhile, DPWH Assistant Secretary Eugenio R. Pipo Jr. visited recently the Anislag Elementary School, where he lauded the extra efforts of the personnel of DPWH Regional Office 5 “particularly in attending to their fullest capability the needs of internally displaced persons who have been forced to flee or leave their homes as a result of the Mayon Volcano eruption.”

Pipo also instructed Director Versola to set-up a 24/7 DPWH Assistance Desk in evacuation camps and address the legitimate complaints or concerns of the evacuees.

Versola, meanwhile, convened a meeting with all the District Engineers of Bicol Region to organize an effective management of evacuation camps in Daraga.